Chenapoda from Middle-Earth

me-2

A dessert unique to Odisha, made in the magical kitchens of “Middle-Earth”- New Zealand


It is one of my most favorite sweet dish. I just love to eat chenapoda as much as I can. Once it was in 2010 I think I ate half kilo at a time in few minutes😊
I always miss. Though this is second time I made but it was delicious.

We can make either with home-made chena/cheese or with ricotta cheese. I tried mixing both to make it softer .  Or I can say I was experimenting. So here you go….

Ingredients

Milk _ 3 litres
Ricotta cheese _ 250 gms
Sugar _ 1/2 cup raw sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar.
Here I’ll say it depends how much sweetness you want. People here in New Zealand don’t like too sweet so I am putting less sugar. You can put half a cup more.
Semolina _ 1/2 cup
Chena (cheese) water_ one cup
Vinegar _ 3 – 4 tb spoon
Baking powder _ 1 tsp
Cardamom powder _ 1 tsp
Cashew nuts & raisins _ few pieces (optional)
Ghee (clarified butter)_ 2 tsp

How to make

Bring the milk to boiling temperature. When it starts boiling add vinegar, little by little. Reduce the gas flame/temperature to minimum. When the milk starts curdling then switch off the gas.
Separate the chena from the milk. Keep the chena under running water for few seconds. Keep some chena water to use for the batter.
Mash the chena nicely. Add the ricotta cheese, semolina, sugar and mix them nicely, till it becomes soft. Slowly add the chena water if the batter is thick.
Finally add baking powder and a little ghee and give a final touch. Mix it well
Preheat the oven to 200 degrees centigrade.

Grease the container with oil. Cut a baking paper according to the size of the container and grease that too. Put in the container. Now put the batter in the container. Put some cashew nuts and raisins on top and keep in the preheated oven for 60 to 65 minutes.

Chenapoda is ready😃

Keep for a while. Let it cool down. Then
Cut it in pieces and serve to your friends… I am sure they will love it….
I too love it.😆

img-20160918-wa0005-01

Archana

Cooking-1

